“…[F]or both men and women…the most reliable predictor of not being lonely is the amount of contact with women. Time spent with men doesn’t make a difference.”

– Gretchen Rubin, The Happiness Project

I really hope to find only one man at home when I go back tonight. For the past four days it has been S, his two college besties, and I – all sharing S’s one-bedroom apartment. I like them all well enough, but tend to feel like a fourth wheel when out with them on their bro-mantic ¬†adventures. I look forward also to forgetting the misogynistic and disgusting conversation topics of men speaking amongst themselves.

The past few days have taught me to better appreciate S – for loving his friends, but also for being a better man than either of them – he is trustworthy, affectionate, nonjudgmental, and respectful. When he isn’t being a butthead, I feel like the luckiest.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

