The New York Times

Believing that quality reporting is endangered and invaluable, I have made the leap and am officially paying for my news now. The turning point for me was re-reading this excerpt from Abraham Verghese’s Cutting for Stone:

Mr. Walters read the New York Times every day. That and a Bible were a constant at his bedside. “I could never afford college. Just Bible school. I tell my students, “If you read this newspaper every day for a year, you’ll have the vocabulary of a Ph.D. and you wil know more than any college graduate. I guarantee you.”

“Do they listen?”

He held up a finger. “Every year one does,” he said, grinning. “But that one makes it worthwhile. Even Jesus only did twelve. I try to get one a year.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

