The JET Program

For reasons I cannot explain, I am in the process of applying to the JET Program. Although I would very much like to live in Japan for a year (and have gone to some effort and expense to secure all the documents necessary to do so), I am secretly hoping for rejection. Why?

Numbers-wise, I expect to be invited to a med school interview or two next year. Being overseas would be both highly inconvenient and very expensive. This is problem 1. Problem 2 is that I must write a statement of purpose explaining my interest in working in Japan for the application. The real reason, ‘funsies,’ seems insufficient, so I will be forced to make up some generic bullshit.

I tell my roommate that I am afraid no med school will accept me or that I fear I am forsaking all other interests (travel, social interaction, exercise, sleep) just to pursue one passion – that will lead only to a life-long, highly stressful profession. He reminds me of Randy Pausch’s words in his “Last Lecture.” Generally, such a reference would annoy me – I tend to believe motivational videos/posters/quotations are for weak-minded navel-gazers and mindless consumers of mass media, but this time I interpret it as the universe telling me to have my cake and eat it, too.

“The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. . . the brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough. . . they’re there to stop the ‘other’ people.”

We’ll see.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The JET Program

  1. Pingback: Umm…Great? | Today I'm a Boy

Leave a Reply

