I screwed up two genotypes this week and very nearly ruined a third today.

Every day someone corrects something I’m doing wrong (not correctly disposing of trizol, using the wrong type of sterile water in RNA purifications, etc.). These mistakes are humiliating and I feel like I am letting down the kind post-doc who has invested so much time in training me. In my mind, none of the other student assistants/techs/researchers have ever had these issues and they all think I’m a pretty lil’ imbecile.

That said, I love working in the lab. I’ve learned a lot and the thrill of playing with DNA and raising glowing green mice has yet to wear off. I just have to continue to keep things in perspective. Like Edison said, “Results! Why, Man, I have gotten a lot of results. I know several thousand things that won’t work.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

