A conversation with a co-teacher

Me: You know, I’m not sure the selection process for foreign teachers is thorough enough. There are some people here that probably shouldn’t be.

Park Ji Young: I know. I hear bad things about foreign men. I’m scared to go to places where they go, like Itaewon.

Me: Yeah, I don’t like Itaewon much either. Too many stupid fights.

Park Ji Young: Also, I hear they do illegal things, like smoke marijuana.*

Me: That wouldn’t surprise me.

Park Ji Young: I hear that sometimes they put marijuana pill in girls’ drinks. Also, I hear they give these marijuana pills to friends as gifts when they come to Korea.

*As an aside, despite their negative reputation, the crime rate amongst foreigners living in Korea is significantly lower than that of Koreans themselves.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

