Twenty

In ten days i won’t be twenty ever again. I recall the events of a year spent mostly traveling (Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, Turk & Caicos, Canada, England, France, Germany, Monaco, Spain and Morocco.)

I saw Alhambra & Angkor Wat. I Couchsurfed with strangers. I lived in Piccadilly Circus. I celebrated Valentine’s Day in a tropical paradise. I swam in the Mediterranean and the Atlantic. I fell in love with Bali. I worked on an organic vineyard in southern France. I spent Christmas in California, with my wonderful, neglected family. I worked a pointless, enjoyable job, while enthusiastically studying chemistry. I cried a lot.
I could boast of having had many adventures, but not of having produced anything lasting. Although I made many new friends, I had few meaningful connections. I was thrilled, yet constantly displaced. I look forward to an inactive year at home.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

